Although I make most of our food from scratch, crackers are something I have never had the courage to tackle. I did some research at the grocery store to find unleavened crackers for passover and the week of unleavened bread. Not surprisingly, most crackers, including saltines, contain various kinds of leaven. These are the few that do not, that I have found:
Original Triscuit has just three ingredients: whole wheat, oil, and salt. I stay away from the new flavored varieties … the less ingredients in the list, the better.
Carr’s or Lu water crackers.
Thin Tea Matzah, broken into crackers.
Homemade wheat thins. From Smitten Kitchen, also where I first tried homemade graham crackers and how to make my own marshmallows so they would be kosher with beef gelatin.
Unleavened graham crackers. These I have made, they are really not any more difficult than making pie crust. And they are good!
If you have found other unleavened crackers, please send me a note at alittleperspective [at] gmail.com. I would love to have a comprehensive list, but frankly, I am really happy I can buy Triscuits! May they never change their recipe!